ACM’s 75th Anniversary Celebration

ACM’s 75th Anniversary Celebration will truly be a memorable day of panels featuring world-leading scholars on topics central to the future of computing. Panelists will imagine what might be next for technology and society in the years to come.

The event will take place at the Palace Hotel in San Francisco on June 10, 2022 from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM Pacific Daylight Time (PDT). There will be a reception following the panels until 6:00 PM to celebrate 75 years of ACM.

View the Livestream of ACM’s 75th Anniversary Celebration On Demand

ACM’s 75th Anniversary Celebration took place at the Palace Hotel in San Francisco on June 10. View the livestream on demand here.

Program Schedule

ACM’s 75th Anniversary Celebration will commence at the following global times:

  • Central European Summer Time: 6:00 pm
  • India Standard Time: 9:30 pm
  • China Standard Time: 12:00 am, June 11

The program schedule follows. Times are Pacific Daylight Time (PDT).

SESSION #1: 9:00 – 10:30 a.m.
  • Gabriele Kotsis, ACM President
  • Jennifer Chayes, Program Chair
Opening Plenary: “From AI to Eternity”
  • Wendy Hall, University of Southampton
Panel: Balancing Trust and Risk

As computing becomes increasingly integral to society — for public services platforms, financial systems and decisions, resource allocations policy decisions and more — how do we foster trust and manage risk?

  • Moderator: Stefan Savage, University of California, San Diego
  • Panelists: Michel Beaudouin-Lafon, Université Paris-Saclay
  • danah boyd, Microsoft Research
  • Bryan Ford, EPFL (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
  • James Mickens, Harvard University

BREAK: 10:30 – 11:00 a.m.

SESSION #2: 11:00 – 12:45 a.m.
Panel: Incentives and Markets

We consider the intentional and unintentional incentives implicit in computing platforms and AI. What can we as computer scientists do to address these technically, and what must be addressed normatively or with regulation?

  • Moderator: Kevin Leyton-Brown, University of British Columbia
  • Panelists: Susan Athey, Stanford University
  • Vincent Conitzer, Duke University and University of Oxford
  • Nicole Immorlica, Microsoft Research
  • Sendhil Mullainathan, Chicago Booth
  • Hal Varian, Google
Panel: Connecting Everyone Everywhere All the Time

What are the computational and societal opportunities and challenges posed by tera-scale networks of people, services, devices, and data as the world’s population and infrastructure become more fully connected?

  • Moderator: Charles Isbell, Georgia Tech
  • Panelists: Anind Dey, University of Washington
  • Jure Leskovec, Stanford University
  • Yoelle Maarek, Amazon
  • Duncan Watts, University of Pennsylvania

LUNCH: 12:45 – 1:45 p.m.

SESSION #3: 1:45 – 2:45 p.m.
Panel: Human-Centered AI

How are we building AI so that it is human-centered?

  • Moderator: Jitendra Malik, University of California, Berkeley
  • Fei-Fei Li, Stanford University
  • Daphne Koller, insitro
  • Raquel Urtasun, Waabi

BREAK: 2:45 – 3:15 p.m.

SESSION #4: 3:15 – 4:30 p.m.
Panel: Global Impact

How are computer scientists addressing some of the world’s most urgent challenges, from medicine and life sciences to climate change and human trafficking?

  • Moderator: James Hendler, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Panelists: Jeff Dean, Google
  • Priya Donti, Carnegie Mellon University
  • José Miguel Hernández-Lobato, University of Cambridge
  • Anjana Rajan, Polaris
Closing Remarks
  • Jennifer Chayes, Program Chair

RECEPTION: 4:30 – 6:00 p.m.

The conference will be free and open to members, but registration is required. Space is limited, so reserve your spot today. Register here.

We are monitoring the COVID regulations for San Francisco and will provide relevant information to attendees as it gets closer to the event.

Program Committee

  • Jennifer Chayes (Chair), University of California, Berkeley
  • Francine Berman, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Susan Dumais, Microsoft Research
  • Deborah Estrin, Cornell Tech
  • James Hendler, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Michael I. Jordan, University of California, Berkeley
  • Butler Lampson, Microsoft Corporation and MIT
  • Valerie E. Taylor, Argonne National Laboratory and CMD-IT